Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Maroons earn academic honors

Butte Central announced its Academic All-State winners for the 2015 fall semester, with 50 student-athletes earning the award.

The awards are given to high school athletes who earn a varsity letter in a MHSA sanctioned sport and obtain a 3.5 or better grade point average during the principal quarter of that sport.

Here are the award winners, listed by sport.

Football: Cal Hollow (3.87), Cole Harper (4.0), Colin McArthur (4.0), Kyle Harrington (3.83), Jake Michelotti (3.62), Kyle Schulte (4.0), Liam Devine (3.68), Blake Burton (4.0), Sam Johnston (4.0), Chay Bouchee (3.76), Tanner Kump (4.0), Nate McGree (4.0), Ryan Ashby (4.0), Jared Schneider (3.96), Ryan Richards (4.0), Archie Petritz (4.0), Paul Thomas LaFleur (3.99), Hunter Hartwick (3.64), Ryan Moodry (4.0), Noah McGree (4.0), Dylan Shea (4.0), Zeb Antonioli (4.0), Cade Holter (3.94), Dan McCloskey (4.0), Aiden Petritz (4.0), Clay Rischer (4.0), Darrien Thomas (3.81).

Volleyball: Shawnee Hjelt (4.0), Teresa Piazzola (4.0), McKenzie Gallagher (4.0), Sierra Pica (4.0), Whitney McGree (4.0), Lacey McGree (4.0), Ryan Trudnowski (4.0), Emily St. John (4.0), Corbyn Holm (4.0), Taylor Wahl (4.0), Mollie Peoples (4.0), Kaylee O'Herron (4.0), Olivia Bolton (4.0)

Cross Country: Abby McGee (4.0), Brian McGeehan (4.0), Theron Nelson (4.0), Nathan Ortega (4.0), Zach Carlson (4.0).

Golf: Frank Dwyer (4.0), Bryan Arnold (3.83), Cam Johnson (3.97), Tyge Yelenich (3.94), Tricia Joynce (4.0).

MCA names fall Coaches of the Year

The Montana Coaches Association announced its 2015 Fall Coach of the Year awards in a press release sent out Thursday morning, and Bozeman High coaches dominated, taking home the award in all four sports.

The AA and A golf awards will be announced in the spring along with the B and C selections, while soccer coaches will be in the "Special Sports" section in the spring.

Here are the complete list of winners for the fall season:


AA: Troy Purcell, Bozeman

A: Chad Ross, Whitefish

B: Les Meyer, Fairfield

C-8: Scott Friede, Chinook

C-6: Scott Sparks, Denton-Geyser-Stanford


AA: Erika Gustavsen, Bozeman

A: Jessy Matthews, Columbia Falls

B: Darcy Stracke, Red Lodge

C: Dina Fritz, Circle

Boys' Cross Country

AA: Clint May, Bozeman

A: Joanne Cleveland, Corvallis

B: John Sillitti, Manhattan

C: Cesar Mireles, Richey-Lambert

Girls' Cross Country

AA: Clint May, Bozeman

A: Joanne Cleveland, Corvallis

B: Susan Loeffler, Bigfork

C: Walt Stevens, Winnett-Melstone

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments