Subscribe for 17¢ / day

After the Carroll College women's basketball team won its first regular season and postseason championships under Rachelle Sayers, the coach was named the Frontier Conference Coach of the Year.

Sayers, to this point, has guided the Saints to a 24-7 record despite the losses of three core players over the course of the season. The Saints were picked to finish fourth in the preseason poll, and now enter the NAIA Tournament as the top team coming out of the Frontier Conference.

Montana Western junior guard Brianna King won the Player and Newcomer of the Year awards. King transferred to Western from Spokane Falls and went on to lead the conference in scoring at 18.9 points per game. King’s hard-to-guard play helped the Bulldogs finish the regular season as the No. 2 team in the Frontier.

Providence guard Stephanie McDonagh earned a second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award. McDonagh averaged a 2.4 steals per game for the Argonauts.

Parker Esary also of Providence was named the Freshman of the Year. Esary averaged 14 points and 8.2 rebounds per game this season.

McDonagh and Esary were both first-team all-conference selections as the Argonauts were the only team to place two of its members on the first team.

Carroll sophomore Taylor Salonen was named the Sixth Man of the Year. 

Conference champion Carroll placed the most members on the first and second teams as Hannah Dean was named to the first team and seniors Bailey Pasta and Michaela Dowdy were named to the second team.

First Team

Hannah DeanCarroll College6-1Jr.CGardiner
Shay PotterMontana Tech6-2So.CMurrary, Utah
Brianna KingMontana Western5-5Jr.GSpokane, Wash.
Mikayla JonesRocky Mountain College5-5Sr.GLynwood, Wash.
Parker EsaryUniversity of Providence5-10Fr.CKlama, Wash.
Stephanie McDonaghUniversity of Providence5-9Sr.GVancouver, Wash.

Second Team

Bailey PastaCarroll College5-6SrGNampa, Idaho
Michaela DowdyCarroll College6-1Sr.CHelena
Hailey TurnerLewis-Clark State College6-1Jr.F/CRichland, Wash.
Britt CooperMontana Western5-10Jr.FHarrison
Hailee FarstveetRocky Mountain College5-11Sr.GBeach, N.D.

Honorable Mention

Peyton SouvenirLewis-Clark State College5-8Fr.GCathlamet, Wash.
Brittney TackettLewis-Clark State College6-1Sr.F/CCoeur d'Alene, Idaho
Brandy LambourneMSU-Northern5-7Sr.GHavre
Shiloh McCormickMSU-Northern5-9So.GLodge Grass
Monica LanddeckMontana Tech5-9Sr.GIssaquah, Wash.
Cierra LameyMontana Western5-10Jr.FWise River
Markaela FrancisRocky Mountain College6-0So.FGreat Falls
Brooke JonesRocky Mountain College5-11Jr.GManhattan
Emilee MaldonadoUniversity of Providence5-5Fr.GSunny Side, Wash.

Load comments