Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Montana lands 14, Montana State 13 on All-Big Sky football teams

  • Updated
  • 0
UM MSU football

Montana State running back Isaiah Ifanse runs the ball as Montana's Robby Hauck (17) and Patrick O'Connell (58) try to tackle him as MSU's Derryk Snell blocks during their game at Washington-Grizzly Stadium in Missoula on Saturday. Ifanse, Hauck and O'Connell all received first-team all-Big Sky selections. 

BOZEMAN — A total of 27 football players from the two Big Sky teams in Montana received all-conference selections.

The all-Big Sky selections, released Tuesday, included 14 Montana Grizzlies and 13 Montana State Bobcats. The Griz had the second most recipients behind conference champion Sacramento State, which had 16. UM, MSU, Sac State and Weber State were tied for the most first-team players with six each.

Big Sky defensive player of the year Troy Andersen highlighted MSU's first-team honorees. The senior middle linebacker was joined by teammates Chase Benson (defensive tackle), Daniel Hardy (defensive end), Isaiah Ifanse (running back), Lewis Kidd (offensive line) and Lance McCutcheon (wide receiver).

Ifanse and Kidd were unanimous selections, as were Eastern Washington quarterback Eric Barriere (the offensive player of the year) and Idaho fullback Logan Kendall.

Montana's first-team players were all on defense or special teams: Brian Buschini (punter), Malik Flowers (kick returner), Justin Ford (defensive back), Trevin Gradney (special teams), Robby Hauck (DB) and Patrick O'Connell (outside linebacker).

Flowers, Weber State returner Rashid Shaheed and Sac State all-purpose special teams selection Asher O'Hara were unanimous picks.

Brawl of the Wild

Montana's Malik Flowers (19) runs the ball against Montana State's Callahan O'Reilly (47) and Eric Zambrano (1) during the 120th Brawl of the Wild on Saturday at Washington-Grizzly Stadium. 

Ford, a Louisville transfer, was named the conference's newcomer of the year.

The Cats and Griz each had a second-team offensive lineman: Conlan Beaver (UM) and Taylor Tuiasosopo (MSU). The second-team defense included UM's Alex Gubner (DT) and Jace Lewis (MLB), as well as MSU's Ty Okada (DB) and Callahan O'Reilly (OLB). 

The Griz's Hunter Mayginnes (OL) made the third team, as did the Cats' Blake Glessner (K) and Tre Webb (DB).

MSU had two honorable mentions: Jeffrey Manning Jr. (DB) and Amandre Williams (DE).

UM's honorable mentions were Joe Babros (DE), Justin Belknap (DE), Cole Grossman (TE) and Mitch Roberts (WR).



Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News