WACO, Tex – The American Football Coaches Association announced the Regional Coach of the Year winners today. Montana Tech’s Chuck Morrell was named Coach of the Year for the northwest region and becomes a finalist for the national award. Morrell was named the Frontier Conference Coach of the Year.

The second year head coach accomplished a number of achievements this past season well deserving of the honor.

Morrell brought the Orediggers from a 3-8 record last year to 8-3 this past season. The initially unranked team charged through the Frontier Conference winning eight straight games; it was the longest win streak for the Oredigger since 1997. Montana Tech earned a Frontier Conference Co-Championship and defeated top ranked rival Carroll College for the first time since 2004. The Orediggers saw their highest ranking since 2006 in the NAIA Coaches’ poll at No. 7.

Eleven players from Montana Tech were selected to the All-Conference team including seven first team selections.

The other four coaches receiving the regional award are Bill Cronin of Georgetown College, Ted Karras Jr. of Marian University, Paul Troth of Missouri Valley College, and Steve Ryan of Morningside College. The coaches will be honored at the Coach of the Year dinner at the AFCA Convention in Nashville in January.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.