Michael Klakken was re-elected mayor of Dillon on Tuesday by soundly defeating challenger Tom Straugh, while Zane Cozby won a second term as mayor of Deer Lodge.

In Granite County, Gail Leeper won a seventh consecutive term as mayor of Drummond.

Here is a county-by-county breakdown of results in southwest Montana. There were no major races in Butte-Silver Bow, Anaconda Deer-Lodge or Madison counties. 

Beaverhead County

According to unofficial returns, Klakken got 766 votes for mayor of Dillon, or 67 percent, to 372, or 33 percent, for Straugh, who is president of the Dillon City Council. Four people ran unopposed for council seats.

Voters also approved a mill levy that will provide the Dillon Police Department with about $231,000 in additional annual revenue, in part to hire two new police officers, pay for retirement benefits and buy new safety equipment. That passed 722 to 444.

Kaylan Minor got 593 votes for city judge, with Paul Pilgrim getting 373 and Crystal Thompson netting 152. Thompson resigned in August but it was too late to remove her name from the ballot.

In Lima, David Olsen was elected mayor, getting 66 votes to 33 for Kent Craven. Four people ran for seats on the city council, but only the two top vote-getters — Travis Wilson and Judy Kay Weekes — were elected. Weekes got 58 votes, Wilson got 56.

The losing candidates were Dorothy Mikula with 50 votes and David Brown with 25.

Powell County

Zane Cozby easily won a second term as Deer Lodge mayor, receiving 577 votes to 179 for Allen Walters. Cozby was first elected in November 2013.

In races for Deer Lodge City Council, Mary Hathaway received 118 votes in her run for the Ward 1 seat vacated by Bob Stone, who chose not to seek re-election. Rob Kersch was elected in Ward 2. He was appointed to fill Brian Bender’s position when he became the city’s chief administration officer.

Residents re-elected Terry Jennings to a second term in Ward 3 with 197 votes and Kyler Noel was elected in Ward 4. He had been appointed to fill the term of Kurt Sager, who resigned.

Election administrator Jody Walker said she mailed 1,554 ballots to registered Deer Lodge voters on Oct. 18 and 50 percent — 775 — were returned.

Jefferson County

Russell Guilio will be the next mayor of Boulder, getting 258 votes to 127 for incumbent Gary Craft and 49 for Lori Smith, according to unofficial returns.

Drew Dawson won the Ward 1 city council race, defeating incumbent Gary Richardson 134 votes to 50. Sherry Lepley was unopposed for the Ward 2 council seat.

Voters also approved a measure to organize a Jefferson Valley Rural Ambulance District. There were 372 yes votes to 188 no votes. Five people were elected to govern the district and the top vote-getter — Tara Tebay with 392 — will be the director. Others chosen to serve are Dana Brunet, Amy DuBois, Rico Patacini and Susan Pullman.

Granite County

Gail Leeper won a seventh term as mayor of Drummond by defeating Bob Teruel 72 votes to 13. Leeper has been mayor for 24 years.


Government and politics reporter

Reporter with emphasis on government and politics.

Load comments