The Butte Exchange Club held its annual Youth of the Year and A.C.E. Award Program this past Tuesday at the NorthWestern Energy Auditorium and awarded $9,500 in scholarships to four local high school seniors.

The Youth of the Year Scholarship of $2,000 was awarded to Jackson Maloney, a senior at Butte High School. He also received a $500 scholarship to attend Montana Tech sponsored by the Montana Tech Foundation. He is now eligible to compete for regional and national Exchange Club Youth of the Year scholarships.

The A.C.E. Award stands for Accepting the Challenge of Excellence. The scholarship is sponsored by New Horizon Technologies and is awarded to a student who has overcome great challenges to graduate from high school. This year’s recipient is Brittney Long. She also received the Rosemary Rawls Scholarship, the Susan Welsch Memorial Scholarship, and the James Dorr Johnson Memorial Scholarship for a total of $4,000. Long is now eligible to compete for the Exchange Club regional and national A.C.E. Award.

Zayne Miller received the $1,500 Frank Rosa Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by the Rosa family. This scholarship is awarded to a student planning on continuing their education at a local college or university. Miller intends to enroll at Montana Tech and also received a $500 scholarship sponsored by the Montana Tech Foundation.

Niklaus Zora received the $1,000 Excel Club Leadership Scholarship. The Butte Excel Club is a student run service club at Butte High School which is sponsored and supervised by the Butte Exchange Club. Zora provided strong leadership to the Excel Club and reflected the values of the National Exchange Club.

Each year the Butte Exchange Club honors 12 outstanding high school seniors from our local high schools as Youth of the Month. These students then compete for the Youth of the Year Award. The theme this year was "Strengthening America through Socially Responsible Communities". Candidates from Butte High School were Elsie Dickerson, Madison Joseph, Jackson Maloney, Cade O’Neil, Isaiah Weldon and Niklaus Zora. Butte Central candidates included Olivia Bolton, Noah McGee, Brian McGeehan, Chelsey McGree, Zoe Sullivan and Kloie Thatcher.

Details about the organization may be found at or by calling Doug Rotondi, 406-491-6039.